ADVERTISEMENT

My Championship Journey!

RobN

All VUSports.com Team
Jul 12, 2001
My Journey thanks to my wife!

Leave my house near Philly at 3am on Monday morning.
Fly at 5am from Philly to Tampa. 2.5 layover
Fly 10:30am from Tampa to Austin.
Drive 2 hours from Austin to Houston.
Check in at the Crown Plaza Hotel
Walk into the lobby and see 12 Lufthansa flight attendants in training sitting in the lobby.
Drive 15 minutes to the team Hotel.

Walk into lobby and speak to Harold Pressley. See tons of formers players. Seems like it is 1985 when I was a sophomore. Turn to the bar area and first person I see is BEEFER. He jumps out of his chair and give me a big hug. Kjbert comes immediately over to say hello. Hang out in the bar area for an hour so. It was great seeing everyone. Head over to NRG stadium for the alumni tailgate party. Run into tons of friends that I have not seen in years. Spend mucho dollars on t-shirts for my family and friends. Go back to the car to rest for an hour. The long day of traveling and the excitement of seeing everyone and the championship game looming is getting to me. I was near exhausted. 7pm comes and we head into the game. I was supposed to have these great seats 17 rows up one section to the right of the Nova bench. Well the seats were 17 rows up but behind the Carolina bench. My buddy Mark and I are watching this game with 20,000 Carolina fans surrounding us. We are the only ones not dressed in Carolina blue. I thought oh my god I am I going to make it out of hear alive. Mark and I for a pair of 50 something old men are not quiet during a game. We yell and scream and cheer Nova on. Much to my surprise the Carolina fans we great during the game. We talked hoops and cheered our respective teams on throughout the game. Fast forward to the end Kris Jenkins hits the shot and Mark and I are screaming for joy among our new found Carolina friends. Everyone is crying for joy and sadness. Honest to God, I was hugged and congratulated by at le