ADVERTISEMENT

Boston U., UMass, UConn, Holy Cross

ROMEOCAT

All VUSports.com Team
Aug 11, 2002
I still regret Boston U.'s dropping 1-AA football. Anyone think UMass will concede it made a HUGE, expensive mistake & move back to FCS level? How long will UConn put up with being in the AAC, after all, they place their flagship basketball teams above all else, & I'm sure their alum, students, & fans would prefer being in the Big East, their football team be damned (unless the ACC called). Lastly, why isn't Holy Cross interested in being a CAA program? Sure, scholarships cost money, but I was under the alum, students love their Crusaders. I remember the days when HC was undefeated, #1 in 1-AA, & had stars like Gordie Lockbaum & Jeff Wylie. In '87, ESPN televised HC-VU (2nd or 3rd season since VU revived football). I was a freshman & in the stands, the students taunted ockbaum with "Gordie goes both ways!"

Holy Cross decided to deemphasize athletics. I've heard nothing to suggest they're unhappy in the Patsy League.
BU decided to focus on hockey. I don't think they regret that decision.
Northeastern decided to forego the expense of football and focus on finding jobs for their grads.
UMASS upgraded football to keep pace with UCONN and perhaps replace BC in Big East. It didn't work out.
UCONN upgraded footbal to protect their hoops program and migrate to ACC. Still might happen

I guess it was on the pay board, but about six weeks ago I posted that UMass and UConn should go to FCS. They are not good
football programs. And I say programs because they are not good teams year after year,esp UMass. They could join the CAA. Then join the Big East for hoops. IMHO I don't see UConn going to ACC.