ADVERTISEMENT

JOB ADVICE

VUWildCat2003

Bleeds Villanova Blue
Gold Member
Nov 5, 2003
This is going to be a bit long but the quit my job to travel thread got me thinking if any of you work in areas that are high paying, enjoyable, and hiring, especially in the New York area. If any of you have any advice about your own experiences or any other advice please share.

Some background about me, I graduated 2003, got my first job in 2004 and worked on Wall Street until 2012 in fixed income sales, worked at an internet startup in NYC for a year in business development, and now work as an insurance broker at a small agency that focuses on contractor's insurance. I probably would have stayed on Wall Street but the area I was in seemed to be shrinking and I just didn't want to sit around worrying about losing my job again which seemed like what was going on with everybody in that area at the time so I knew I had to make a change.

I am 34, and although I see myself eventually getting married, having kids, and doing the whole suburb thing, I still look and act like I am probably about 27, so I'll probably be one of those guys who gets married when he is about 40. I am in no rush and since I am a dude and my biological clock isn't ticking like a women's, I have the luxury of doing so.

Anyway, I know at this point I should probably settle into something so by the time I am 40 I will be established and moving up the ladder, making more money, etc. but since I am not taking care of anybody but myself at this point I do have some freedom to look around a bit.