ADVERTISEMENT

Saving for kids' college?

Fat Wanker

All VUSports.com Team
Mar 23, 2012
As a liberal artist, I am not well-versed in finance. I have heard stories of people saving for college and finding out that they would have gotten financial aid if they had not saved. I don't know if that only applies to low income people.

We have started to contribute some to a 529 account. Is this a good idea or are we just going to disqualify our kids for aid? (I suspect that depends on whether we are beyond the aid threshold anyway). Are there better places to put savings to prevent disqualification?

Thanks for any help. Let's hear it VSB grads.

Reactions: adp98
Not a VSB grad but we have Virginia 529s for all the kids. If you are a white person and not a trump voter I would not anticipate much aid. Save your money, don't rely on aid. The other option is to claim you are native american, worked for elazabeth warren.

Financial aid formula is primarily income driven. Save as much as you can. Schools handle the process in their own way. Most schools will give their best "offer" to incoming freshman because they figure once you attend, you are less likely to leave if the aid diminishes in future years. Some will tell you what their aid will be before you commit, some will wait until after.

The financial aid process does not take into account other private high school tuition or second home costs. It does take into account your primary mortgage. So if you have a younger child that's costing you 15 or 20k for high school, the financial aid formula will also expect you to have that same money available to pay for college.

The Utah and Nevada 529 plans at Vanguard are very good:
- they are "aged based" with a heavy weighting to equities when they are very young and the balance is automatically shifted to fixed income and cash as they approach college age
- the fees are very reasonable as they use Vanguard index funds